Skip to content

Main Street Annual Meeting includes Downtown awards and new Board members for 2022

Main Street Murfreesboro held its annual meeting on February 15 at The Walnut House downtown. Due to COVID precautions the meeting only included board and committee members of Main Street and award recipients. 

At the meeting, Main Street’s 2022 board members were elected. Voted in as the 2022 Board Chair was Kirk Garrett, Murfreesboro City President, Volunteer State Bank. Other Executive Board members approved for 2022 were Vice-Chair, Ashley McDonald and Treasurer, Patrick Cammack. Six new members were elected to the Main Street board including Shannon Beckman, Michael Busey, LaShan Dixon, Francela Salas, Shawn Wright and Sonya Stephenson. Bill Shacklett, having served for 24 years on the Main Street Board and Susan Grear, serving 12 years, were thanked for their service as they stepped down from the board. Tab Talbott, 2021 board chair, opened the meeting thanking the investors of our historic downtown for their support last year. Main Street was able to successfully host all of their annual events with record attendance, create a new logo and marketing plan for the downtown, incorporate a grant system for 2022 that will go to improvements of downtown buildings and restructure their Downtown awards for more transparency and equal opportunity.  

Main Street Board chose three recipients to receive the Downtown Design Awards, which were chosen from nominations and then reviewed and scored by the Main Street Design Committee. Downtown Design Award recipients were: Rutherford County Historic Courthouse, Red Bicycle and Brohalla.

The Downtown Business Award was chosen from nominations made to Main Street Murfreesboro and then reviewed and interviewed by the Economic Development committee. One recipient, The Walnut House, was chosen for this award.

Main Street Murfreesboro created the Doug Young Downtown in 2017 in honor of the leadership and civic service of Doug Young to honor those who give back to the downtown through Main Street, government and civic service. The Doug Young Award recipient is a high honor indicative of one who has achieved significant respect and success in fulfilling their civic duty as well as one who personifies the highest standard of service toward others, leadership and integrity.  

The Doug Young Downtown Leadership Award was given to Bill Shacklett.

More Stories

  • Latest Issue 4 24

    Read More
  • Editor's Letter

    Welcome to another exciting issue of VIP Murfreesboro Magazine! This month, we’re celebrating the power of our community across generations. Whether you’re a young professional aiming to make a difference, a parent looking to support your child’s education or simply someone who believes in the power of community, we have something for you in this issue. Read More
  • Ascend Federal Credit Union Opens New Location in Murfreesboro

    Ascend Federal Credit Union, the largest credit union in Middle Tennessee, announced the opening of its newest location in Murfreesboro’s Savannah Ridge area. Located at 3403 South Church St., Suite A, the new branch office is the company’s 28th total full-service financial center, fifth branch in Murfreesboro and seventh location in Rutherford County, joining existing branches in Smyrna and La Vergne. Read More
  • Get Involved in April for Child Abuse Prevention Month

    “National Child Abuse Prevention Month is more than just raising awareness about the reality of child maltreatment. It’s about taking action to eliminate it. Every April, the Child Advocacy Center hosts events to celebrate Child Abuse Prevention month” announced Community Education Coordinator, Presley Hosford. Read More